FINA Swimming World Cup 2018

FINA Swimming World Cup 2018

Official page of FINA Swimming World Cup 2018

The first leg of the FINA Swimming World Cup 2018 took place at the Aquatics Palace (70 Sibgata Khakima St.) in Kazan on 7-9 September 2018. The tournament brought together about 200 finest swimmers from around the world. 50 judges officiated the event. The tournament’s line-up featured a strong list of athletes such as Mitchell Larkin (Australia), Felipe Lima (Brazil), Katinka Hosszu (Hungary), Ranomi Kromowidjojo (the Netherlands), Chad Le Clos (RSA), Anton Chupkov, Kirill Prigoda, Vladimir Morozov, Yulia Efimova (Russia), Sarah Sjostrom (Sweden), Blake Pieroni (USA) and others.

About the tournament

The FINA Swimming World Cup 2018 is a prestigious international tournament held annually by the International Swimming Federation (FINA). Its participants are the top world athletes, Olympic and FINA World Championships medallists.

The FINA World Cup features 7 legs divided into 3 clusters. The first cluster includes events in Kazan and Doha. The second will be held in Eindhoven and Budapest. The tournaments of the third cluster in Beijing, Tokyo and Singapore will wrap up the World Cup. A total of prize money reaches USD 2.5 million.

Date of publication: Category: Video clips
Video length: 00:00

The first cluster events take place in the 50m pools where 32 sets of medals in individual and 2 sets in relay events are on stake. The next two clusters include 34 individual and 2 relay events in 25m pools. Unlimited events can be swum by a swimmer and only the best 3 results (per meet points) will count towards the ranking/scoring.

According to an agreement between the capital of Tatarstan and FINA, Kazan will be hosting a leg of the FINA Swimming World Cup from 2018 to 2021.


File: pdf. File size: 300.42 KB Competition Schedule