FINA/NVC Diving World Series 2016

FINA/NVC Diving World Series 2016

The 4th leg of the FINA/NVC Diving World Series took place at the Aquatics Palace (70 Sibgata Khakima St.), Kazan on April 22-24, 2016.

About tournament

The Tatarstan capital hosted this prestigious tournament for the second time. In 2015, it was held as a test event ahead of the 16th FINA World Championships and brought together 67 top divers from 13 countries.

The World Series is held annually under the umbrella of the International Swimming Federation (FINA). It was founded in 2007 as a fusion of a prestigious tournament and exhibition performances. Launched by such diving powerhouses as Great Britain, China and Mexico, it was soon joined by other countries as host organisers: Canada, Qatar, Russia and the United Arab Emirates. The event traditionally invites internationally-recognised divers, mostly medallists from previous Olympics, World Championships and World Cups.

75 divers representing 12 nations competed in the fourth leg of the FINA/NVC Diving World Series in Kazan.

At each leg, the three-day competition schedule features the following events: men’s and women’s 3m springboard, 10m platform, 3m springboard synchro, 10m platform synchro, 3m springboard and 10m platform mixed gender synchro. The last two were included in the programme in January 2015.

Competition results

China claimed nine out of ten gold medals at the fourth leg of the FINA/NVC Diving World Series in Kazan. The single gold medal was taken by Ilia Zakharov and Evgeniy Kuznetsov who climbed the top podium spot in the men’s 3m synchro springboard.