World Fair Play Awards

World Fair Play Awards

In July 2014, Kazan hosted a series of events of the International Fair Play Committee (CIFP).

The International Fair Play Committee is a non-governmental organisation founded in 1963. The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO), International Sports Press Association (AIPS), International Council of Sport Science and Physical Education (ICSSPE) are among the initiators and founders of the International Fair Play Committee. The World Fair Play Congress was held on July 18, 2014 where special trophies of the International Fair Play Committee and diplomas of the Russian Olympic Committee and the Russian Fair Play Committee were awarded in a number of categories.

The World Fair Play Awards took place in the Pyramida Cultural and Entertainment Complex on July 19. This event is an ethic code of sports society and is awarded to athletes, heads of sports organisations, mass media representatives, fans for fair competition, promotion of humanism, moral values in sport and life, rejection of all forms of violence against rivals and active charitable activity.

During the Gala Ceremony, the following awards were handed out:

  • Pierre de Coubertin World Fair Play Trophy

– to an athlete or a team for a gesture of Fair Play;

  • Jean Borotra World Fair Play Trophy

– to a person for his/her remarkable general attitude showed all along his/her sport career;

  • Wili Daume (former CIFP President, organiser of the Munich 1972 Summer Olympics) World Fair Play Trophy

– to a person or an organisation for an activity aimed at promoting Fair Play;

  • Fair Play Trophy for the Youth – Under the auspices of the IOC President

– to an athlete or a team (under 20) for a gesture of Fair Play;

  • Special International Fair Play Committee Trophy;
  • Special UNESCO Fair Play Trophy;
  • Fair Play Special Trophy.

As part of the series of CIFP events, such renowned Russian athletes as Vladimir Salnikov, Maria Kisileva, Dmitry Sautin, Stanislav Pozdnyakov, Svetlana Demina, Margarita Mamun, Yana Kudryavtseva hosted workshops for sports schools’ trainees. The events were held at four sports venues: Aquatics Palace, Tennis Academy, Sviyaga Shooting Range and Gymnastics Centre. Besides, a special workshop called ‘Mass Media as a Platform for Promoting Fair Play Principles’ was also organised for journalists of Tatarstan.