Red Bull Air Race World Championship 2017

Red Bull Air Race World Championship 2017

July 22 - 23,
2017

Official website of Red Bull Air Race World Championship

The 5th stop of the Red Bull Air Race World Championship 2017 was held above the water area of the Kazanka River along the Kremlyovskaya Embankment, Kazan on 22-23 July 2017. Despite the 10-year history of the World Championship, this was the first time ever the air race came to Russia.

The aerial racetrack of the Kazan championship was located over the Kazanka River providing a great view of the Kazan Kremlin. The runway strip was situated at the Kazan Ring Motor-racing Track. 14 pilots, including the defending champion Matthias Dolderer (GER) were competing this year for the title of the 2017 Red Bull Air Race world champion.

About championship

The Red Bull Air Race World Championship is an international series of air races with at least eight pilots competing in each race, and is recognised as the World Championship accredited by the World Air Sports Federation (FAI).

The championship is organised by Red Bull GmbH. The first race, held in 2003 during the AirPower Airshow in Zeltweg (AUT), was received with great acclaim. After two years of successful staging in Hungary, Great Britain and the USA as a championship, the race was granted the World Series status. The first competition in this format was held in 2005 in seven cities across the globe.

The Red Bull Air Race is renowned as the fastest and most exhilarating motorsport on the planet. Using the most agile, lightweight racing planes, pilots hit speeds of 370 kmh while enduring forces of up to 10G as they navigate a slalom track marked by 25-metre-high, air-filled pylons, known as ‘air gates’. Points are awarded at the end of the race to the pilot finishing in the fastest possible time with the fewest penalty seconds. The pilot with the most points after the last race of the season becomes the Red Bull Air Race world champion.

In 2017, the World Series features eight stops in seven countries: the UAE, the USA, Japan, Hungary, Russia, Germany and Portugal and celebrates two anniversaries at once: Red Bull GmbH marks the 75th Red Bull Air Race of the World Championship and the 10th consecutive season opener in Abu Dhabi (UAE).

Competition results

Kirby Chambliss of the United States won the title in the fifth stop of the Red Bull Air Race, Class Master. The winner in the Challenger Class was Kenny Chiang from China.
The current standings are available here

Photo

All projects

Этап чемпионата мира по воздушным гонкам Red Bull Air Race 2017 года

Этап чемпионата мира по воздушным гонкам Red Bull Air Race 2017 года

22 Июля - 23 Июля
2017 года

Официальный сайт этапа чемпионата мира по воздушным гонкам Red Bull Air Race

22-23 июля 2017 года в акватории реки Казанки вдоль Кремлевской набережной прошел 5-й этап чемпионата мира по воздушным гонкам Red Bull Air Race. Соревнование проводится уже 10 лет, но это была первая гонка, которая состоялась в России.

Соревновательная трасса этапа казанского чемпионата располагалась в воздушном пространстве над Казанкой с обзором на Казанский Кремль, а взлетно-посадочная полоса – на территории автодрома «Kazan Ring». В этом году за статус чемпиона боролось 14 пилотов, в том числе действующий чемпион Маттиас Дольдерер (Германия).

О чемпионате

Чемпионат мира по воздушным гонкам Red Bull Air Race является cерией международных соревнований с участием не менее восьми пилотов в каждом этапе и имеет статус мирового чемпионата, признанного Международной федерацией аэронавтики (FAI).

Инициатором гонок является компания Red Bull GmbH. Первое соревнование по воздушным гонкам Red Bull Air Race состоялось в 2003 году в рамках авиашоу AirPower в г. Цельтвеге (Австрия) и имело ошеломляющий успех. После двух лет проведения соревнований в разных странах – Венгрии, Англии и США – гонка приобрела статус мировой серии. Первый чемпионат в таком формате стартовал в 2005 году и прошел в семи городах по всему миру.

Red Bull Air Race носит звание самого быстрого моторного чемпионата планеты. В ходе соревнований пилоты на своих сверхманевренных самолетах проходят на время трассу, обозначенную 25-метровыми пилонами («воздушными воротами»), развивая при этом скорость до 370 км/ч и испытывая перегрузки до 10G. Пилот, пролетевший трассу за наименьшее время и набравший наименьшее количество штрафных очков, получает призовые баллы по итогам этапа. Чемпионом мира Red Bull Air Race объявляется пилот, набравший наибольшее количество призовых баллов в чемпионате.

Стоит отметить, что в сезоне-2017 мировая серия включает в себя восемь этапов в семи странах (ОАЭ, США, Япония, Венгрия, Россия, Германия и Португалия) и празднует сразу два юбилея: чемпионат проходит в десятый раз, и в начале февраля он стартовал юбилейной 75-й гонкой в Абу-Даби (ОАЭ). 

Результаты соревнований

Американский пилот Кирби Чемблисс выиграл пятый этап Red Bull Air Race в классе Master. Пилот из Китая Кенни Чан выиграл Challenger Cup в Казани.

Турнирная таблица чемпионата представлена здесь.

Фото

Все проекты