European Weightlifting Championships 2011

European Weightlifting Championships 2011

April 8 - 17,
2011

On 8-17 April 2011, Kazan hosted a major sporting event – the European Weightlifting Championships. The tournament was organised by the International and European Weightlifting Federation, Ministry of Sport, Tourism and Youth Policy of the Russian Federation, Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sport of the Republic of Tatarstan, Russian Weightlifting Federation, and Kazan 2013 Executive Directorate.

About championships

This was the 90th tournament for men and the 24th for women. The first European Weightlifting Championships were held in 1896 in Rotterdam, the Netherlands, with the German athlete, Hans Beck, winning the first European title. The inaugural women's continental tournament took place 92 years later, in San Marino.

The USSR played host to the Europeans four times. The championships were held in Moscow in 1964, 1975, and 1983. In 1968, the event took place in Leningrad (now Saint Petersburg). Until 1997, the men's and women's events were held separately. The first joint men's and women's championships were held in 1998 in Riesa, Germany.

A total of 19 sets of medals (15 individual, 2 team and 2 sets for outstanding results and records) were up for grabs at the 2011 championships in Kazan.

Photo

All projects

Чемпионат Европы по тяжелой атлетике 2011 года

Чемпионат Европы по тяжелой атлетике 2011 года

8 Апреля - 17 Апреля
2011 года

8-17 апреля 2011 года в Казани прошло крупное спортивное событие – чемпионат Европы по тяжелой атлетике. Организаторами мероприятия выступили Международная и Европейская федерации тяжелой атлетики, Министерство спорта, туризма и молодежной политики РФ, Министерство по делам молодежи, спорту и туризму РТ, Российская федерация тяжелой атлетики и АНО «Исполнительная дирекция «Казань 2013».

О чемпионате

Чемпионат стал девяностым по счету для мужчин и двадцать четвертым для женщин. Первый чемпионат Европы по тяжелой атлетике среди мужчин прошел в далеком 1896 году, в г.Роттердам (Нидерланды), а первым чемпионского титула в нем добился немец Ханс Бек. Через 92 года состоялся дебютный чемпионат Старого Света среди женщин, который прошел в Сан-Марино.

Советский Союз четыре раза принимал у себя лучших тяжелоатлетов европейского континента. В 1964, 1975 и 1983гг. чемпионат Европы проходил в г.Москве. В 1968 году турнир состоялся в г.Ленинграде (ныне – г.Санкт-Петербург). До 1997 года мужские и женские чемпионаты проводились раздельно. Первый «объединенный» чемпионат Европы прошел в 1998 году в немецком городе Риза.

На чемпионате Европы 2011 года в г.Казани было разыграно 19 комплектов наград. Из них 15 – личных, два – командных, а также два комплекта наград за особые достижения и рекорды.

Фото

Все проекты