2019 Aga Khan Award for Architecture Ceremony

2019 Aga Khan Award for Architecture Ceremony

The official web page of Aga Khan Award for Architecture

The prize-giving ceremony for the 2019 Aga Khan Award for Architecture took place on 13 September in Kazan’s Tatar State Academic Opera and Ballet Theatre named after Musa Jalil (Ploshchad Svobody). Among the 250 foreign guests expected were ministers, architects, scientists, and businesspersons.

About the award

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture is one of the oldest and biggest architecture awards in the world. It was established in 1977 by His Highness Prince Karim Aga Khan IV, the founder of the Institute of Ismaili Studies and Aga Khan Development Network, spiritual leader, and the 49th hereditary Imam of the Shia Ismaili Muslims.

The winner is selected every three years from a wide range of various projects offering to communities, in addition to architectural value, improved quality of life. Prominent among award winners are architecture firms BIG, Snøhetta, Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos, Zaha Hadid Architects, and architects Norman Foster and Cesar Pelli.

The capital of Tatarstan was selected as the ceremony host during the 11th International Economic Summit “Russia — Islamic World: Kazan Summit 2019”. The Directorate for Sports and Social Projects is in charge of the event delivery under the supervision of the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Tatarstan.

Winner projects

The winners of the 2019 Aga Khan Award for Architecture were announced on 29 August.

The USD 1 million prize will be divided between the following projects:

  • Revitalisation of Muharraq (Bahrain)

  • Arcadia Education Project, in South Kanarchor (Bangladesh)

  • Palestinian Museum, in Birzeit (Palestine)

  • Public Spaces Development Programme, in the Republic of Tatarstan (Russian Federation)

  • Alioune Diop University Teaching and Research Unit in Bambey (Senegal)

  • Wasit Wetland Centre (United Arab Emirates).

Details of the winner projects are available here.

Photo

All projects

Церемония награждения победителей Международной премии Ага Хана в области архитектуры 2019 года

Церемония награждения победителей Международной премии Ага Хана в области архитектуры 2019 года

Официальный сайт Международной премии Ага Хана в области архитектуры

В Казани в Татарском академическом государственном театре оперы и балета им.М.Джалиля (пл. Свободы) 13 сентября прошла церемония вручения Международной премии Ага Хана в области архитектуры. Ожидалось 250 иностранных гостей, в том числе министры, архитекторы, ученые, бизнесмены.

О премии

Премия Ага Хана – одна из старейших и крупнейших мировых наград в области архитектуры. В 1977 году ее учредил Его Высочество Принц Карим Ага Хан IV, основатель Института исмаилитских исследований и международной Организации Ага Хана по развитию, духовный лидер, Имам Времени мусульманской исмаилитской общины.

Победитель выбирается раз в три года из числа самых разнообразных проектов, которые не только несут архитектурную ценность, но и повышают общий уровень жизни. Среди известных лауреатов премии — архитектурные фирмы BIG, Snøhetta, Nieto Sobejano Arquitectos, бюро Захи Хадид, архитекторы Норман Фостер и Сезар Пелли.

Решение провести мероприятие в столице Татарстана было принято во время XI Международного экономического саммита «Россия – Исламский мир: KazanSummit 2019». Подготовку и проведение торжественной церемонии вручения премии в г.Казани обеспечивает АНО «Дирекция спортивных и социальных проектов» под руководством Министерства культуры Республики Татарстан.

Проекты-победители

Победители премии были объявлены 29 августа 2019 года. Ими стали: 

  • проект по возрождению города Мухаррака (Бахрейн), 

  • образовательный проект Arcadia в Южном Канарчоре (Бангладеш), 

  • Палестинский музей в городе Бирзейте (Палестина), 

  • программа развития общественных пространств в Республике Татарстан (Российская Федерация), 

  • учебный корпус университета имени Алиуна Диопа в г. Бамбее (Сенегал), 

  • экосистемный парк Wasit в городе Шардже (ОАЭ). 

Подробное описание проектов-победителей можно найти здесь.

Фото

Все проекты